Password: Log In:
Radio Control Zone » RC Car Action: Forums » General Vehicle Forums » General RC Discussion » What to look for when buying a used rc car

Notices

General RC Discussion RC discussion that does not fit in another category

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2012, 04:00 PM

What to look for when buying a used rc car

I am new to the sport. I am not sure if I want to spend $1000 dollars to buy a brushless e revo 1/10th for my first car with a charger and 2 lipo batteries. I did find a used e revo with 2 lipos and a charger for them. what would a good used price be? And what should I look for. I don't want a conversion to brushless. I just want to make sure I like the sport before I spend all kinds of money in it. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links

Old 03-03-2012, 01:10 AM

When it comes to batteries, especially lipo's, getting them second hand is always iffy as you dont know how they where handled and maintained. They could be a year old and no good. In your case, plan on buying just the rig and remote and maybe the charger used. If you feel good about it, then get a few used batteries, atleast to give you an idea of the truck and how it works. Either they will work or they wont last very long, so plan On picking up new ones.

For the truck, I usually look at a couple of areas. 1 is operation of all controls, servo's, linkages, esc and motor, etc. Make sure you have full range and control. That will tell you if anything is out of wack, maybe due to previous wrecks, etc. Also check for any water damage in non waterproof controls/servo's.
second, check a arms and suspension carefully for damage and abuse. See how shocks rebound and if control arms and shock towers have any cheesey fixes such as super glue, bent axis pins or broken knuckles.