Password: Log In:

Notices

General RC Discussion RC discussion that does not fit in another category

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2006, 11:19 AM

What exactly does brushless mean?

I'm a noob to the r/c scene and I have seen brushless a lot. What is it and why is it good?
Sponsored Links

Old 09-01-2006, 12:41 PM
Banned

In a conventional brushed motor, there is a shaft passing through the motor can onto which there are lobes. On each lobe there are strands of wire wrapped about. If it is a 10-turn double, a strand of wire is wrapped around each lobe ten times, twice. Then there are magnets inside the can that interact with the wire when it has a current running through it. The timing of the current is determined by when the motor BRUSHES come into contact with the segmented commutator, which is that ring of shiny metal with which the brushes rub against. The more current running through the motor, the faster it turns and more torque is exerted. Horsepower is determined by RPM and torque.

In a brushless motor, there are no brushes contacting a commutator; instead the speed controller is sent information from a sensor telling it where the armature is (its position). Then the speed controller compares that to where the user 'wants' it to be, i.e. how fast we want it to go. So, if we want zero throttle, it doesn't send any pulses of current. If we want some throttle, it sends pulses based on armature position and which segment of the armature needs to be energized. Essentially, it just continually monitors position and sends a jolt of current to the next logical segment of the armature.
Old 09-01-2006, 12:44 PM
Banned