View Full Version : Check These Prices Out !!!
Doubledog
10-04-2004, 02:18 AM
Dang right I'm screaming ! :eek: :eek:
Are these prices for real? NO, ARE THEY FOR REAL FOR REAL? :confused:
Guess, I'll be buying that new SprintCat after all. :p
Super G RTR (http://www.rcclublist.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=SEA-24&Show=TechSpecs)
Manta Ray --- RTR $460 ! (http://www.rcclublist.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=Sea-30)
Sprint Cat -- RTR $460 ! (http://www.rcclublist.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=SEA-13)
WHATS THE CATCH? ? ? ?
Doubledog
10-04-2004, 02:25 AM
Never mind. Found it.
Read through the FAQ's and would be reluctant to order. My bad guys. Its a little too much BS and there's no 'return' policy.
Hydro Junkie
10-04-2004, 02:43 AM
Like many "too good to be true's". At least you found the catch and let everyone know about it. I was checking out some of the boats pictured on the right side, didn't like what I was reading. The claim was to be able to build a wooden hulled hydro, you need to be a cabinet maker!!!!!!!!!!! :mad: The pic showed a Budweiser T-2 paint job and somewhat innaccurately shaped cowl on a boat that was almost sinking at the rear :( To make it even worse, the radio was all the way at the back(just like the Pro Boat Buds) meaning headaches with flooding and radio problems. Now, I'm no cabinet maker, but I still build wooden hulls with basic woodworking tools, in my garage no less :p I think we just found a place to stay away from. It was a nice try DD, nothing bad about it. It's standard practice to put the catches and such in the fine print, and who reads all of that? Most people don't even read all the large print, let alone the small.
Doubledog
10-04-2004, 05:55 AM
In a round about way, its a scam. The guy is making money. Hell, I'd send you broken junk just to have you send it back with a $15 restocking fee. (but then again, I've got a conscience)
Would like to ask that this thread be deleted but it needs to stay up.
BUYERS, BE VERY CAREFUL.
abx131
10-04-2004, 12:40 PM
Maybe I'm missing something here, can someone fill me in?? I read the "policies" segment and I am lost. What list are they talking about? You cant return anything for a refund but they can send you any replacement they want???
Chris LaPanse
10-04-2004, 07:04 PM
It looks like his scam works like this:
1: You buy/pay for boat at really cheap price
2: Someone else does same thing
3: process repeats until he has actual value of product, and then he ships it to you.
4: you get product cheap, but the lists get longer and longer the more people buy, so it takes longer and longer to recieve product (he said it can take months)
5: It eventually all collapses, and anyone who hasn't gotten their stuff yet is screwed
lovinnitro
10-04-2004, 07:50 PM
Chris hit it right on the head. I believe, and just like stated, if he collapses the people on the "list" are hosed.
I know I wouldn't deal with him.
Doubledog
10-05-2004, 02:14 AM
How do you report such as that to the proper authorities?
abx131
10-05-2004, 06:57 PM
Try the attorney general's office for your state.
lovinnitro
10-06-2004, 03:18 PM
Gaurantee he' slegal through some loophole where he operates at. Prolly more so because he does actually (in a round about way) tell you how it operates and his shipping and return policies.
IMHO it's still a scam anyway you look at it.
RCGUY76
10-08-2004, 02:42 PM
even if this is the most legit website in the world (which I highly doubt), and 100% of the customers get there products eventually, IMAGINE the interest this guys is making with your money while its sitting there waiting for products to come in
Chris LaPanse
10-08-2004, 06:00 PM
That's the whole reason he set it up. Anyway, eventually, there will be such long lists that people will stop buying - and without an infinite stream of buyers, someone will eventually get screwed and loose lots of money.
Ron Olson
10-10-2004, 01:07 PM
It's illegal, called a Pyramid Scheme by name. Yes, it's a scam. Read between the lines and don't feel sorry for him because he is "wheelchair confined".
You get put on a "List", who knows how long until your name reaches the top. You then eventually, if ever, recieve a box of who-knows-what because if the box is opened, it's yours Pal!
He already has your money regardless of the "Restocking" fee of 15% or not. Go ahead, read it again! NON-REFUNDABLE!
You are protected to an extent by some Credit Card Companies like Discover who say that if you do purchase something and it isn't delivered in a certain amount of time, they will get your money back.
I'd like to know how many people were stupid enough to buy into this scam before they found out that they are SOL.
Mike T
10-11-2004, 08:52 PM
Steer clear. It's a Ponzi scheme. It's named after a guy named Ponzi who went to jail for inventing it. Lots of people try it, in lots of different forms. Lots of people fail. Don't get me started unless you have all night. :-)
Ron Olson
10-11-2004, 09:02 PM
Thanks, Mike. I was pretty sure that it wasn't a Pyramid but didn't know the exact name of it. I do know what a Pyramid is though. There used to be a guy that suckered people into it with a Company called CosCOT back in the early '70's. It stood for Cosmetics for the Community Of Tomorrow. I went to one of their lame meetings. They did put on a show but all of these people found out that they got the screws put to them so they had to stick it to others to recoup their money. I only saw one store that opened selling those products, the place wasn't much wider than the door to get in.
abx131
10-11-2004, 09:29 PM
You sold cosmetics, some how that doesn't fit.
Ron Olson
10-11-2004, 09:37 PM
No, I didn't sell cosmetics, I went to a meeting. They wanted $1,000.00 to get in on the lowest level. A kid with 2 jobs driving a '65 Impala, I couldn't afford that kind of money. Back then, a Grand was a lot of coin, I was making about $2.15 an hour at the time.
Doubledog
10-12-2004, 02:24 AM
Amway.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.